PDA

View Full Version : write unmaintainable code, ensure headaches for life

sapo
October 17th, 2007, 10:39 AM
I just posted something on my blog, that I think it's interesting for programmers, I will paste it here so you don't have to visit my blog to read it, but if you want my blog is: http://yacoding.blogspot.com

Please, if you have the time to read it, please comment :)

This post is inspired by How To Write Unmaintainable Code Ensure a job for life ;-) by Roedy Green.

But rater I'd call it: How To Write Unmaintainable Code ensure headaches for life.

Well, I started programming when I was 15 years old, and since then I've learned a lot, and almost all I learned since then (except the very basics, which I learned at school) I learned by myself, I read a lot and I really enjoy programming, which helps, because as I code for fun I learn and have fun at same time.

And I lost almost all of my oldest codes. I wrote I game like space invaders using clipper once, and for what I can remember it's the code I regret most to have lost.

But these kind of code you write for fun, you don't have to maintain, even if it is a piece of ****, who cares? it's just dead code.

But the real problem starts when other people starting using your code, because you can't just trash it, and that's a big problem.

And 4 or 5 years ago, I dropped clipper and start with php, even php being a modern language it still have many problems, and one of these problems is that it is easy too learn, and it attracts a lot of newbies, like me, who you should have guessed got attracted by it's simplicity (please forgive me for using this word to describe php) and easy learning.

And what happens when a newbie join forces with other newbies to learn a language? Nothing good, I'm sure.

As clipper was a procedural language and I didn't have a clue what OOP was at that time, I started writing spaghetti code at speed of light, and that was not a good idea.