PDA

View Full Version : Save me from an Embarrasing situation

bigbrovar
October 16th, 2007, 03:48 PM
i have been using Ubuntu now for the past 3 months..and it has been soo good that i made i decision to have a local shipit project in my country where i send ubuntu cd plus an aptcd to anybody who request for it in my country...the probelm i have is that whenever i use ubuntu based burners like gnome baker,k3b or basero to burn an ubuntu cd ..i always get errors when checking the cd for defects ..and i dont get this error when i use nero in my vista partitions..infact it is soo embarrasing when i friend comes to me house and i tell him ubuntu is all that..and when its time to write an ubuntu cd for him to try out ..i shut down and go to vista :( to wirte the cd for..please is there anything i can do..
my hardware config are

Gateway MT6821 notebook

2gb ram
intel core2duo
256 graphic memo
intel GMA 945
DVD DL writer
dvd wirting speed is 8x
while that for cd is 24x

Dixon Bainbridge
October 16th, 2007, 03:51 PM
What speed are you burning at? please don't say maximum.

Data/iso's should be burnt at slow speeds, x2,x4 max, music/audio max x8.

Burning at stupid speeds will cause disk errors on the burn.

vambo
October 16th, 2007, 03:52 PM
Have you tried burning at X4, or even x2 ?

phidia
October 16th, 2007, 03:53 PM
You say you get errors when checking the cd for defects..are you checking the iso with md5sum before you burn it? Or maybe you need to specify how exactly you burn. I have never had a problem with gnomebaker or K3B.

mindtrick
October 16th, 2007, 03:55 PM
Also K3B has some settings like DAO, TAO, you might wanna learn that stuff.

bigbrovar
October 16th, 2007, 04:14 PM
thanks guys for your response

What speed are you burning at? please don't say maximum.

Data/iso's should be burnt at slow speeds, x2,x4 max, music/audio max x8.

Burning at stupid speeds will cause disk errors on the burn.

Have you tried burning at X4, or even x2 ?