PDA

View Full Version : Very Dissapointed in Linux yet again.:(

its_jon
August 17th, 2005, 06:51 PM
After hours of typing alien commands which I do not understand at all. I STILL can not get my Sagem modem working.

I keep coming back to Linux but always fall at the first hurdle. :|

If this was a Microsoft problem a simple click and install file would be available to patch the issue.......

As this is such an IMPORTANT piece of hardware as it is a VERY popular modem. where is the click and install file to fix the problem ???????? Surely a fix for this problem is A1 Priority!.

I am new to Linux so telling me to type a shed load of hieroglyphics into a 'terminal' is only adding petrol to the fire.
(thanks to those who tried to help me out anyway)

adwait
August 17th, 2005, 06:56 PM
Windows is windows.......Linux is linux........ No point comparing. If there are no drivers for you modem, its the fault of your modem manufacturer, not the linux community.

its_jon
August 17th, 2005, 07:02 PM
Sagem Linux Drivers exist, They dont 'go in'

Why can't the Linux community complile a tool to install these files for all the people out there new to linux with this very popular modem ??????

KingBahamut
August 17th, 2005, 07:15 PM
Sagem modem -- If I remember thats a Conexant chipset.

Soooo.....

http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-9926.html
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-1906.html
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/archive/23/2005/01/2/276827

Try not to get upset here....this isnt a place to toss down flames....this area is for support.

aysiu
August 17th, 2005, 07:16 PM
Read the article in my signature.
I have a description of you:

"You think the Windows way of doing things is the best way and is always the best way. You don't really want to migrate to Linux. You just want to make a feigned attempt at installing it and using it so that you can complain about how it's not 'ready for the desktop' when you encounter a single problem."