PDA

View Full Version : My first C prog

ashvala
October 14th, 2007, 07:02 AM
Dear Ubuntu Programmers,

I am an aspiring programmer from India can anyone help me in programming?

Wybiral
October 14th, 2007, 07:29 AM
I advise you pick an easy high level language and get the basics down. Python is a good choice (lots of support, easy, and useful). Grab some good tutorials on the web, and get started.

ashvala
October 14th, 2007, 02:16 PM
ain't there anything else other than Python?

CptPicard
October 14th, 2007, 02:37 PM
No, there isn't, there ist only van vei to do it richtig... ;)

(Seriously, check out Ruby or Java, whichever you feel comfortable with...)

ankursethi
October 14th, 2007, 02:53 PM
I'm also an aspiring programmer from India :). Hello there.

I learnt C first. It's small, simple and doesn't do hand holding like Python. Then I moved on to Python. They teach C++ at school, so I've learnt enough to keep those idiots happy. I really don't like that language.

Anyway, get "Let Us C" by Yashwant Kanetkar for a very gentle yet complete introduction to programming. It even goes on to teach you a bit of GTK+/Win32 programming. It's the only book which can be found at any damned bookstore back here. Also try getting "The C Programming Language". It'll be tough to find, since it's not that commonly available. Try one of those stores that sell college books.

You can learn Python online at Python.org.

gnusci
October 14th, 2007, 02:54 PM
Check the Sticky Threads:

http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=39

Especially:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=333867
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=554070
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=255970

pmasiar
October 14th, 2007, 07:15 PM
wiki in my sig has plenty of links to get you started with Python.