PDA

View Full Version : Who's using Compiz-Fusion and how's working for you?

keithk
October 13th, 2007, 05:27 PM
I've been using compiz fusion for 2 months now and it's been working great. The key for me was switching from an ATI card on my Ubuntu box to an Nvidia. Nvidia's Linux support made it a breeze and I no longer have the headaches I had with Beryl and ATI. I'm also using Emerald Theme Manger with Compiz Fusion and haven't had a single issue. I'd like for some others to chime in with their experience. Thanks!

markthecarp
October 19th, 2007, 07:10 PM
I switched to compiz-fusion about a month ago when I upgraded my test box to Gutsy. Previously I'd used Beryl. I apt-got removed beryl...and related prior to my upgrade. I left emerald alone.

I had to add two lines to my /e/X/xorg.conf to get compiz-fusion running on my hardware. I copied those lines from a backed up copy of /e/X/xorg.conf.

It's much better than my previous Beryl 3d desktop.

I turned off FF's pop up blocker so I could kill popups and watch them go down in flames ;-)

-mark

keithk
October 19th, 2007, 09:40 PM
Updated to Gutsy yesterday. Compiz and Emerald are working fine but I can't open Compiz Config Settings Manager. It's probably because of my previous install in Fiesty. I'd imagine the fix probably is one of those uninstall reinstall deals. But if anyone has a different fix for this let me know before I unleash some sort of mayhem upon my system.

markthecarp
October 20th, 2007, 12:58 PM
Keithk,

Make sure you have the "compizconfig-settings-manager" package installed then the menu path should be "System > Preferences > Advanced Desktop Effects Settings". I had to remove the "gnome-compiz-manager" package.

-mark

Footer
October 20th, 2007, 01:22 PM
Keithk,

Make sure you have the "compizconfig-settings-manager" package installed then the menu path should be "System > Preferences > Advanced Desktop Effects Settings". I had to remove the "gnome-compiz-manager" package.

-mark