PDA

View Full Version : How they(=hackers, gurus) expect us(=newcomers, newbies) to behave in forums[link]

October 12th, 2007, 11:46 AM
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

I am warning you, it's hard!

kerry_s
October 12th, 2007, 12:25 PM
needs to be a sticky.

Seisen
October 12th, 2007, 01:03 PM
I second the sticky and I wish sometimes more people would follow this but the world is not perfect.

nest
October 12th, 2007, 01:36 PM
its so (SO) true.

sticky.

Duck2006
October 12th, 2007, 01:52 PM
It sould be a must read.

Malibu Illusion
October 12th, 2007, 02:14 PM
This forum is care-bear land to how the majority of more efficient and knowledgable boards operate. I guess these rules and etiquette standards are relaxed here due to it being aimed at absolute beginners.

clancymf
October 12th, 2007, 02:29 PM
This forum is care-bear land to how the majority of more efficient and knowledgable boards operate. I guess these rules and etiquette standards are relaxed here due to it being aimed at absolute beginners.

"More efficient and knowledgable boards"... why the insults? I have been using these boards religiously over the last few weeks and it has been the sole reason I have stayed afloat since switching to linux.

Dr Small
October 12th, 2007, 02:36 PM
I second the sticky and I wish sometimes more people would follow this but the world is not perfect.
+1

quinnten83
October 12th, 2007, 02:38 PM
well, I agree (even though i admittedly didn't read it al) to some degree.
thing is, hackers also sometimes forget that some people just are not that technical.
I have users at my work who will ask me the most idiotically simple question about the use of their computer. Granted some of them are lazy, but some simply do not even know what the problem is, let alone looking for a solution.
internet is big and vast, you will meet all sorts. If you can't live with that, than don't offer any kind of support.

but, hey, I haven't read the entire thing yet....