PDA

View Full Version : Hello everyone

NinjaZec
October 10th, 2007, 07:46 AM
i just registered so i wanted to say hello!
so hello ):P

i never used Linux so far so i am a big noob, but hopefully one day i ll be able to delete windows from my computer and get rid of it once and forever.
I installed Ubuntu and didnt have any problems with running it nor installing it. it was done in 10 minutes.

and since i am writing this i may as well ask my first question
so here we go:

What should i do now maybe try to find a book or something since i dont know what to do. For example i want to install pidgin but even though i find a tutorial i cant follow it since i dont know how to compile source code nor how to use a command terminal.

Since i dont like to read books, i was hoping for a step by step guides for start. and then when i figure out a few things.

kind a long first post but i hope you dont mind :-)

vishzilla
October 10th, 2007, 07:49 AM
i just registered so i wanted to say hello!
so hello ):P

i never used Linux so far so i am a big noob, but hopefully one day i ll be able to delete windows from my computer and get rid of it once and forever.
I installed Ubuntu and didnt have any problems with running it nor installing it. it was done in 10 minutes.

and since i am writing this i may as well ask my first question
so here we go:

What should i do now maybe try to find a book or something since i dont know what to do. For example i want to install pidgin but even though i find a tutorial i cant follow it since i dont know how to compile source code nor how to use a command terminal.

Since i dont like to read books, i was hoping for a step by step guides for start. and then when i figure out a few things.

kind a long first post but i hope you dont mind :-)

to install pidgin, get the .deb pack from http://getdeb.net .deb pack is similar to a .exe package, that should do. best way to learn is to stick with the forums and ubuntu's community documentation.

NinjaZec