PDA

View Full Version : What 5 distros would you suggest for Linux noobs?

byen
August 14th, 2005, 07:03 PM
Hey guys
I know this question might have been asked before..but if you read my post in full..you might understand why I am asking this question again.

Ok.Im a student working as a graduate intern in a pretty big state university in Detroit, USA. After using various distros I settled with Ubuntu and have never looked back. A couple of months ago, when my professor( who i might say is a great supporter of the open source movement inspite of not being a regular user) saw my laptop and asked me more about what I was using and how my experience has been with Linux..I convinced him into installing one of our computers with Ubuntu and he seems to have loved it! Ever since, Ive been trying to talk him into using our resources to give out free cd's to other students who might be able to take advantage of this OS. He seemed reluctant at first but finally he said if can put in my own personal time and burn the cds...i could use the University's resources to burn the Cds with Linux and give em out for free at a summer semester meet we had a couple of weeks ago. So I burned Ubuntu, Ubuntu Live, Knoppix and Suse and believe it or not...it took less than an hour for us to be out of our 100 cds. In the comming days we have received many requests from our students asking us to put the ISo's on our server so that they can download them and burn em from our server. SO coming to the point... We have been granted permission to upload any 5 distros on our university server for our students to download and we are having trouble narrowing down the list. I know there are many sites listing various ditros for new users but to me... Its this community's opinion that matters the most!! So which five distros do you suggest?
Here are the conditions we have:
1.Installation should be easy
2.Most hardware should be compatable/configurable.
3.Must be free
4.Easy Usability.