PDA

View Full Version : Creating a command line "sys. doc. utility". Want to discuss design and impl.

kentl
October 6th, 2007, 03:17 PM
Hi,

I want to create a logging utility which I'll use to remember what I've done to my system. I want to be able to enable and disable logging as well as storing meta information in my log file. I have a vision of how the utility would work, and even some thoughts about the design and implementation. Still, I want to discuss this with you, my fellows, to get the best system possible as I am still quite new to Linux.

An example command line history from using my fictual logging system

> log on
> log comment Deleting all foobar files and creating some bar-files
> rm foobar*.txt
> vim bar1.txt
> vim bar2.txt
> vim bar3.txt
> log comment Change bar1.txt to simply say 'Hello logging'
> vim bar1.txt
> log comment A new revelation is making me change bar2.txt
> vim bar2.txt
> log comment The second line of bar3.txt is making me annoyed, it must go!
> vim bar3.txt
> log off

And this is how the log file would look

Deleting all foobar files and creating some bar-files
action: removed 'foobar1.txt', 'foobar2.txt' and 'foobar3.txt'
command: rm foobar*.txt
action: Created a text file named 'bar1.txt' with the contents
This is the only line in bar1.txt
command: vim bar1.txt
action: Created a text file named 'bar2.txt' with the contents
In bar2.txt I felt it
was a good decision to
have three lines
command: vim bar2.txt
action: Created a text file named 'bar3.txt' with the contents
Two lines
are enough
command: vim bar3.txt
Change bar1.txt to simply say 'Hello logging'
action: Changed line 1 from 'This is the only line in bar1.txt' to 'Hello logging'
command: vim bar1.txt
A new revelation is making me change bar2.txt
action: Changed bar2.txt according to this diff
2c2
< was a good decision to
---
> was bad decision to
3a4
> so now i have four
command: vim bar2.txt
The second line of bar3.txt is making me annoyed, it must go!