PDA

View Full Version : sick of firefox

funrider
October 5th, 2007, 09:24 PM
i am not a newbie and i am from IT. ff was good when it first came out but recently i just cant stand it no more. I am writing this with epiphany-browser which is lighter and never crash/freeze on my fiesty fawn 64 bit machine. At work I use konqueror with cygwin from the suse box since ff also crash on the windoze box.

damn it, ff team you have to do something to fix the memory issue or you will be hated by the public.

floke
October 5th, 2007, 09:26 PM
Used to LOVE ffx - got me into FOSS so it did - but damn it - epiphany just rocks!

spacegypsy
October 5th, 2007, 09:29 PM
Ever tried Swiftweasel (http://swiftweasel.sourceforge.net/about.php) ?

mindtrick
October 5th, 2007, 09:31 PM
Give Swiftfox (http://getswiftfox.com/) a try.

Jimmyfj
October 5th, 2007, 09:33 PM
Epiphany is a great browser, one of the greatest I've ever tried. Not that I have a great deal of trouble or any issues with Ffx, I use swiftfox instead. But nothing beats Epiphany in my opinion. Still I'm looking forward to try the new Firefox 3.0. It should be more stable. I'll wait and see.

floke
October 5th, 2007, 09:33 PM
Swiftweasel - still not as fast as Epiphany on my box - though others may differ.

Samhain13
October 8th, 2007, 09:06 AM
I'm also trying to get myself used to using Epiphany (over Firefox) for normal browsing. I just have a question though: how do I set it so that the browser opens a new page in a tab rather than in a new window?

picpak
October 8th, 2007, 03:31 PM
For me, Firefox seems to run a lot better on Windows. I've given up on running it on Linux.

I say give Opera 9.23 a try. No memory problems there.

Artificial Intelligence
October 8th, 2007, 03:41 PM
Epiphany FTW! Used it since the early ubuntu days and never regret it. :guitar:

starcraft.man
October 8th, 2007, 04:04 PM