PDA

View Full Version : My college senior project - Ubuntu vs Vista!

1cewolf
October 5th, 2007, 04:40 AM
What's up, my fellow Ubuntu aficionados? Allow me to introduce myself. My name is...well, yeah, you can just call me Icewolf. I'm a senior Computer Information Systems major in a particular college, and like the title suggests, I've decided to compare Windows Vista to Ubuntu for my Capstone (senior project).

Now, I know what you're thinking - Icewolf, why on Earth are you doing something like that? Your major has "computer" in the title, so why don't you program something instead and be a good Open Sourcer? The answer is, well...I really can't. I'm a pretty lousy programmer. My greatest accomplishment was creating an AI Tic-Tac-Toe player in Java which could never be beaten, and that's not really saying a whole lot.

In fact, I didn't know what I was going to do for my senior project until I just happened to stumble upon Windows XP crapping out on me for the millionth time over the summer. Y'see, I happened to grow tired of the 3 color themes that XP came with, so I decided to change my drab desktop up a bit - except MS's ridiculous restrictions wouldn't let me do what I wanted to. To get rid of them, I installed a small patch...which somehow ended up completely and totally corrupting Windows. I decided that I had had enough of M$'s proprietary shenanigans, so I went out and bought the Official Ubuntu Book. I read it, popped in the CD, and was able to access and salvage EVERYTHING I wanted to on my Windows installation before wiping the HDD clean and installing Ubuntu.