PDA

View Full Version : Which GUI toolit would you recommend for a newbie?

p.i.m.p
October 4th, 2007, 03:29 PM
I'm new to programming and would like to develop simple gui applications in c++.. which toolkit would you guys recommend? which is the simpler to use and has the least learning curve?

LaRoza
October 4th, 2007, 05:04 PM
I would start with Python for GUI programming. For Python, EasyGUI is the easiest, also wxPython (port of wxWidgets), and Tkinter (Tk). The Python ports are similar to the C++ API so that you can use the knowledge of them. I do not do much GUI programming, but wxPython is quite easy, but powerful. EasyGUI is a simple way of using a gui for an app, but is limited.

wxWidgets, then.

p.i.m.p
October 4th, 2007, 05:12 PM
Hi,

I'm learning Java and C++ so I have my hands full currently.. Python sounds interesting - I'll give it a shot during Winter break.. Is there any way I can draw a "gui" with wxwidgets like in Visual Studio?

yage
October 4th, 2007, 05:32 PM
Hi,

I'm learning Java and C++ so I have my hands full currently.. Python sounds interesting - I'll give it a shot during Winter break.. Is there any way I can draw a "gui" with wxwidgets like in Visual Studio?

Don't know about wxwighets but GTK has GLADE for that job...

ryno519
October 4th, 2007, 06:40 PM
I prefer gtkmm. Makes very good use of standard C++ libraries and coding styles and you can use glade to create the guis if you like. It's all nice and easy.

p.i.m.p
October 4th, 2007, 07:12 PM
Thank you for your replies

Acglaphotis
October 4th, 2007, 08:13 PM
I would recommend Glade + python + gladex.

ps: Cool username.

p.i.m.p
October 4th, 2007, 08:18 PM
hahahaha thanks

Blue Sky
October 4th, 2007, 08:50 PM
I recommend QT if you're going to be doing C++, GTK for C#.

Glade is awful, stay away from it.

Acglaphotis
October 4th, 2007, 11:51 PM
I recommend QT if you're going to be doing C++, GTK for C#.