PDA

View Full Version : Starting a company where Linux is essential! Need advice and suggestions!

Spif
October 2nd, 2007, 07:11 PM
For easy readability, my post is divided in several sections. You can skip to the last section if you wish to only see my questions, the rest is only information that may help you more accurately.

Introduction:

I am currently working on a small project of mine: Starting a small company with me as the only employee. As I am a business/economics student at a university, it will only be a small spare-time project, but hopefully a very learning experience that will help me in my future career.

Company concept

As for what my company will focus on, I simply cannot reveal yet. Too many things are still being researched thoroughly and I want to make sure all my ideas can be realized before I make any "public" statements.

However, this is unimportant. All you need to know is that I will be dealing with IT and that computer systems in general will play a vital role in my company concept. Free Open-Source software is everything to my company.

Linux infrastructure

A Linux-based infrastructure that is running smoothly and is easily maintainable is currently priority number one. Initially this will be the only thing that will lead to high expenses. As I am a poor student and because my time is limited, I cannot afford to make any mistakes regarding this. Making the right choice the first time is a must.

For that reason, I am seeking advice from other Linux users. Hopefully together we are able to make the best decision.

My system will consist of the following:

Laptop x1
Stationary computer x1
Server x1

All machines will be running Linux.

Questions

I need a good, reliable server.

It is very important that the server is energy efficient, as big electricity bills are unwanted.
It will be used for multiple things, including mail, storage, system administration, etc.