PDA

View Full Version : Writing a program for Grandma.

TreeFrog
August 12th, 2005, 09:32 PM
Hi can anyone suggest where I should begin in this?

Specifically which tools should I learn to use for which purpose. Bearing in mind the simplistic requirement of the final application.

I'm thinking of writing a simple front end to run on Ubuntu in Gnome. tabs, buttons, output and input boxes.
At the back it will run some simple scripts. perhaps do a little opening and parsing/editing of files too I'm not sure yet. Perhaps later it will even connect to the net to get up-to-date scripts.

I want it to be easily used by everyone. In that I mean if I give it to you, you can use it straight off. no configuration or install of other packages. Though it may be able to make necessary configuration changes once it is running.
This is for Grandma... if you get what I mean!

I have some experience with Delphi and C so concepts are Ok with me. it is just the tools and considerations for this environment I'm worried about.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks.

Treefrog.

Lord Illidan
August 12th, 2005, 09:42 PM
A front end for what? Or just to use Ubuntu?

If you use Gnome ... Glade
If you use KDE .... Kdevelop

TreeFrog
August 13th, 2005, 02:01 AM
Sorry, ya not really a front end of something. More of just a GUI. I'm getting ahead of myself there.
I supose it could be inturprited as a front end of Ubuntu. that is what it will help to manage.
Oh dear says you.. another GUI for control systems.

Anyone know the pit falls of such things. This is for good old Grandma Frog.

Glade looks interesting. I'll have a swing at it. Thanks.

Treefrog.

Teren
August 13th, 2005, 04:29 AM
Sorry, ya not really a front end of something. More of just a GUI. I'm getting ahead of myself there.
I supose it could be inturprited as a front end of Ubuntu. that is what it will help to manage.
Oh dear says you.. another GUI for control systems.