PDA

View Full Version : Dumb Question: What is .NET, .NET2.0, etc?

GSF1200S
October 1st, 2007, 02:03 PM
Well, im new to the whole web culture, which im getting into mainly as advice from these forums.

I understand that .NET is a MS born internet framework, but what exactly does it do? Whats its benefits, and why is such a push being made towards it?

Since im starting my journey on html, xhtml, css, xml and javascript (web design), I would also be curious to know if I would need Windows to do .NET design. Does windows need to be around?

Whats different with .NET2.0, 3.0, etc?

The most important question: I know that mono can run .NET applications. Does .NET2.0, 3.0, etc apps run through mono on Linux? Does .NET, especially the later renditions, hurt the position of Linux in general? It seems to me its another attempt by MS to choke Linux from its ascent to the top...

I really dont know.. maybe someone out there could shed some light on some answers?

ynnhoj
October 1st, 2007, 02:13 PM
.net isn't necessarily just an internet framework; you can write local applications in vb, c#, j#, c++, etc. using .net. of course, you can also use .net classes as the backbone of an asp.net web application.. read about the common language interface to get a better idea of how it all works.

it looks like .net 3.0 has some new components and an updated version of the common language runtime, among other additions/changes.

all the mono-related stuff i can't speak about, as i've never had any experience with mono. just google it. i'm sure there's a wealth of information out there.

blastus
October 1st, 2007, 02:29 PM
I understand that .NET is a MS born internet framework, but what exactly does it do?

.NET is for developing desktop and web-based software that will run on Windows machines. .NET supports multiple languages on one platform, Windows. In contrast Java supports one language on multiple platforms.

Whats its benefits, and why is such a push being made towards it?