PDA

View Full Version : Installing a shared library

bcw
October 1st, 2007, 12:50 PM
Hello,

I'm writing an input system for tablet computers (for linux). I've done some experiments to verify I can basically do what I want, and now it's time to back up, and set up the proper infrastructure for developing software that can be installed, un-installed, not conflict, etc.

A bit of background so you can gauge your answers...

I write Java for a living, so I'm technical enough, but I haven't written C for 9 years, and even then it wasn't much. I have a cursory understanding of make, gcc, and I've read a bit about linking.

I've run 'make && make install' many times, but not much more than that.

What I'm writing now is a couple of libraries to be called from client programs. I am using kdevelop, which has provided me with a project skeleton for shared libraries - I used that for my experiments. The project uses Cmake, which looks nice enough, and I may use that as I pull this out to be stand-alone.

Some questions:

1) I tried (manually) putting the library I made into /usr/local/lib and running ldconfig. This did not make the library available system-wide. I thought /usr/local/lib was the place for non-system libraries (not-Ubuntu-approved-yet) and that it would be included for 'aftermarket' packages like mine. Is this not the case, or is my system not set up properly?

2) Most libraries have version numbers appended. Mine does not by default. How is that done? Is it a make setting (forced), or handled by ldconfig, or?

3) I can search the web and find many pages about programming Linux, libraries, etc., so I don't need general recommendations. But that's a lot of reading to winnow through, so if you know of some resources that are tightly appropriate to Ubuntu development/setup practices that would cut through my reading burden, please recommend them.