PDA

View Full Version : Recommend me a distro!

sunexplodes
October 1st, 2007, 05:29 AM
Hi guys. Been using Ubuntu for just over a year now, and I'd like to branch out a bit, try something different.

I'd consider myself a fairly competent linux dude. I can, for the most part, compile software from source, troubleshoot a number of hardware problems, etc. I'm not shy about using the terminal.

On the other hand, I have no background in programming. At all. I do prefer using a GUI for most administrative tasks (at least during the initial install process).

I like having access to new software, perhaps not bleeding-edge, but that wouldn't hurt to have, either. I use compiz-fusion with XFCE4. I'm comfortable with gnome, but would be willing to give KDE an honest try.

I'd like to try something that isn't debian-based.

My hardware's a couple years old.. 120 GB of hard drive, 2.2GHZ Celeron, Geforce FX5500, 1GB ram. I use wired networking, so wireless support is not important.

Anything you'd suggest?

blithen
October 1st, 2007, 05:32 AM
Slackware is pretty good. Not Debian based. Maybe Gentoo. Not sure if that is Debian based. But it's still pretty good. The install process is BITTERLY extensive.

RAV TUX
October 1st, 2007, 05:35 AM
Hi guys. Been using Ubuntu for just over a year now, and I'd like to branch out a bit, try something different.

I'd consider myself a fairly competent linux dude. I can, for the most part, compile software from source, troubleshoot a number of hardware problems, etc. I'm not shy about using the terminal.

On the other hand, I have no background in programming. At all. I do prefer using a GUI for most administrative tasks (at least during the initial install process).

I like having access to new software, perhaps not bleeding-edge, but that wouldn't hurt to have, either. I use compiz-fusion with XFCE4. I'm comfortable with gnome, but would be willing to give KDE an honest try.