PDA

View Full Version : Man you guys should try out Lynx - it's awesom

nowshining
September 30th, 2007, 10:58 AM
Yeah i used it to type this out :) in a terminal via ctrl + alt + f1 hehe i'm just learning it and well one down and now i only gotta figure out how to dial out via the terminal so one problem down and another ready to be explored and answered. To use lynx ctrl + alt + f1 or in a terminal type lynx and the url and to go to another url type G up and down arrow keys select links and left goes back a page and right activates the highlighted link that is selected and space goes down a page. :) oh and capital V when asked to allow cookies means never and y is accept and n is no not right now. :) this is awesome. Better than firefox for basic text sites, i'm thinking of switching to this when only browsing and if need be to restart the gui when I need to.

edited with Firefox GUI tho on some things..

bobbocanfly
September 30th, 2007, 11:26 AM
Lynx is absolutely brilliant. I use it when setting up Headless servers and i havent installed openssh-server yet, properly useful.

Also if you are wanting to leave out the GUI unless you really want it, you can disable G/KDM on startup so you boot into a CLI environment. After this you can type startx to launch X Window System (And therefore GNOME). Tis what i do.

nowshining
September 30th, 2007, 12:16 PM
I plan on using the Gui , example as I am browsing and posting this via lynx :) and still getting used to it, i have rythmbox on and listening to music again while surfing the forums. :) I like GUIs the most but am getting used to CLIs also since i only can get 3hrs on a good connection per session before i'll have to re-dial in - i'll have to use the GUI to check before times up :( and also since I still do not know how to dial up using the CLI - itta be the GUI for now :/. Oh and I'll use the GUI firefox for somethings - i'd tho like to get images working instead of links in lynx. :)

az