PDA

View Full Version : Developpers vs. Systems Engineers, what do you think?

odiseo77
September 30th, 2007, 02:45 AM
Hello people. First, let me make something clear: this is not intended to start a flame war here about who's best (devs or systems engineers); it's only to clarify some doubts I have regarding the computer science and the people who, in some way, is related it with it. I'd also like to make something clear: dislike a lot of people here in the forum (and in other linux forums), I'm not directly related with computers ...I studied literature at the university but I've been using linux as my OS of choice for about 3 years now just because I love it, sympathize with its philosophy and find it to be more secure than windows.

Well, the main question would be this: hasn't happened to you at any moment that you find someone who knows lot about programming (or at least has an acceptable level of knowledge in this area), but doesn't know too much about the OS as a whole (linux, in this case)? Or vice versa: haven't you found someone who knows a lot about the hidden tricks and obscure sides of an OS, but doesn't know programming?

I ask this because last year I took a linux administration course and everyone but me had a certain background related with computers (had studied some area of the computer science before and worked in the same field). In spite of this, I got the higher levels in the certification tests (well, my main advantage was that I had been using linux for about 2 years and most of them hadn't and had a windows background :lolflag: ). In this course there was even a java programmer working in the Defense Ministry and she got one of the lower levels at the second certification test (I thought programmers had the philosopher's stone? :confused: ).