PDA

View Full Version : What's an easy language?

tsnell
September 26th, 2007, 09:37 PM
I'm just starting out programming and I was wondering, what would be an easy language to start with?

dhtseany
September 26th, 2007, 09:40 PM
What do you want to do with it?

Make webpages, programs?

BTW, my last Dad's name is Tom Snell haha

tsnell
September 26th, 2007, 09:54 PM
Programs
*lol that's cool about your last dad*

dhtseany
September 26th, 2007, 09:58 PM
From what I've read Python is a good place to start because alot of the commands are fool proof.

I like BASIC too because again it's all pretty straight forward.

Sean

tsnell
September 26th, 2007, 10:00 PM
thnx, do you know of any Free online tutorials? and where can I get a good python compiler?

wiscados
September 26th, 2007, 10:21 PM
python is interpered, not compiled...

it's normally installed by default...

if not:

sudo apt-get install python

the tutorial I use is http://www.freenetpages.co.uk/hp/alan.gauld/
It actually is a 3in1 tutorial VBScript JavaScript. and Python. First the subject is explained and and shown how it works in python, then it is shown in VBS+JS.

tsnell
September 26th, 2007, 10:23 PM
:oops: I didn't know it was interpreted:oops:

n e way thnx 4 the help!

Blue Sky
September 26th, 2007, 10:34 PM
Java

tsnell
September 26th, 2007, 10:42 PM
Java? I think I'll learn Python first after that, who knows?

Blue Sky
September 26th, 2007, 10:48 PM
With Java you will learn all the important OOP concepts, you won't be able to escape it. Python might be "easier" though.

jamespi
September 26th, 2007, 10:56 PM
http://programming-crash-course.com/

if you are just learning the fundamentals of programming it might be worth googling up a site specifically devoted to teaching you fundamentals.

The main learning languages historically were Pascal, BASIC and now Python. I taught myself BASIC when I was 9 by reading the User Manual for my Acorn Electron, so as you might tell it isn't very complicated.