PDA

View Full Version : C++ beginner

yyz
September 26th, 2007, 02:51 PM
Hello. I'm 17 years of age, and I'm very keen to learn how to program.
I currently am taking a BTEC introductory IT course(Level 1) at college.

I have no experience in computer programming. I borrowed a foundation C++ programming book from the college library, but there are so many programming languages out there, I'm not exactly sure if this will be a good one to start with.

I have a target to work in the computer security field in my future career. I want to program in Linux.
Which language will give me a good start-off?

(Note: I was advised by one of the IT teachers(programmer) at college to begin with Visual Basic, but another teacher(programmer too) said C++ is fine to start with; I'm in between, and a bit confused.

I hope I've made it all clear. Feel free to ask me, if you need extra information/more details, to give me a better guidance-advice.

Thank you

yyz

LaRoza
September 26th, 2007, 02:56 PM
The stickies, or my wiki:

the links are in my sig.

For the language: Python.

Python is:

* crossplatform
* Easy to learn, but very powerful
* Mature
* Clean, and makes for good programming habits

thetejon
September 26th, 2007, 04:56 PM
C++ is kind of a pain in the ***, and not where I'd recommend that you start. Honestly, if you're going to be a programmer, you're going to end up using a bunch of languages.

I would start with PHP. There are tons of tutorials on getting started with LAMP (Linux Apache MySql PHP). It's easy to get up and running, PHP is used all over the place, and it can be really simple or really complicated, depending on your skill level.

For example, as a beginner, you can write more or less an HTML page and throw in a few PHP commands to do something more interesting. As you learn more, you can create classes and objects and do all kinds of things.

Pyhton is probably a good place to start, too, but I have never used it so I can't really say.

LaRoza