PDA

View Full Version : PyTube - A small python script for the use with YouTube

marcos.linux
September 25th, 2007, 02:16 AM
Hi, I made a small python script with uses certain programs to downlod, convert,extract audio out of youtube videos. I called it PyTube, If anyone has any tips, any suggestions, and would like to help me out(im a heavy noob) and would like to help me out making a GUI then talk to me :-)

http://www.bashterritory.com/pytube

pmasiar
September 25th, 2007, 01:30 PM
1)Nice blog :-)
2) Not bad code for a beginner. I didn't try to run it, just read it a little :-)

Couple of comments:
- Licence: GPLv3 is nice, but even better is "or any later version" - make it future-proof
- consider reading PEP8 about coding standards. Also google for "python idioms" and "python best practices". Wiki in my sig **might** have some links too :-)
- Coding standards suggest 4-space tabs, and some readability hints, like space after comma in import, spaces around = and ==, better function names, download() instead of op1() etc.
- use method chaining, accomplish more in one line

change_dir=raw_input("change directory? Yes/No: ").lower()
# is in 1 line instead of 2 line as in:
changedirq=raw_input("change directory? Yes/No: ")
changedirq=changedirq.lower()

- It is matter of taste, but consider using string interpolation when building complex commands:

# string interpolation is more readable that string concatenation from expressions
os.system("mplayer -dumpaudio %s -dumpfile %s.mp3 > /dev/null 2>&1" % (finalfile, finalfile)
os.system("mplayer -dumpaudio " + finalfile + " -dumpfile " + finalfile + ".mp3 > /dev/null 2>&1")

- You may want to try EsayGUI to add a GUI
- Wiki in my sig has many more training tasks. I recommend to look ar PythonChallenge too.

LaRoza
September 25th, 2007, 05:51 PM
For the download links, you might want to archive them, so you don't get code in the browser.

marcos.linux
October 4th, 2007, 01:57 PM
I wrote a GUI :-).