PDA

View Full Version : Legitimate complaints

uputer
September 24th, 2007, 01:44 AM
Here's an article that has constructive criticism for Ubuntu:

http://itmanagement.earthweb.com/entdev/article.php/3700666

Someone might have posted that here already, I'm not sure.

I have already posted in the Testimonials about the sudo complaint but that article has a section that explains it quite well. I was told by others about the sudo critique but I couldn't find any suitable articles that went into depth about it. Well, they were brief mention of it but this author went into more detail.

The other complaint I have is although Ubuntu tries to simplify things, they still have problems in crucial areas, for e.g., wireless.

I'm only a beginner but there are those who use Linux who have had complaints about it so I would hope that people would stop accusing me of being 'unfair.'

scrooge_74
September 24th, 2007, 03:09 AM
Lets see:

1. Classical he went for Gutsy, which is not officially ready
2. How many new users have or even know what a DVORAK keyboard is
3. Partitioning options have always been a little not straight forward in my opinion
4. If a user wants to know what is going to be install he should be using Debian or at least the Alternate CD, but new users or normal Windows users have no clue what is been installed anyway
5. Humm, when was the last time XP will tell you what key to press to have boot options?
6. Don't know about the fonts, but I am happy as they are
7. What resolution is he talking about for the icons? you can always make the task bars a little bigger
8. Again complaining about software version
9. Package manager, why the complaint, if you know what you are doing you either use apt from the command line or synaptic. If you dont have a clue the use the ADD/REMOVE
10. If you want the root user you can always enable it, I doubt new users would use two different passwords, still sudo is better than just clicking like in VISTA.