PDA

View Full Version : Unnofficial Ubuntu Starter Guide

shoelessmike
November 20th, 2004, 04:38 AM
Dear Friends,
I've been running Linux for about a year and Ubuntu about a month. I'm in love: as soon as my PocketPC is lost/destroyed/stolen and I can afford an ATI 3D card, I'm deleting my Windows partition and living happily ever after in a single-boot Ubuntu system. Until then, I wanted to give something back to the community.
One thing I believe would be useful to the Ubuntu and Linux community as a whole is an unnofficial, step-by-step, picture-laden manual for getting up and running, tips and tricks, etc. Unnofficial because then it could include a) How to play DVD's b) how to play mp3's c) a bunch of fun, step-by-step hacks.
I've looked and haven't seen anything like this that is also a) easy to read, b) comprehensive or c) fun to use. I'm a terrible programmer (I know JAVA, C++, and a bit of python but my programs always seem to cause more problems then they're worth), but an award-winning writer and trained ediitor. Is there something like this that exists, Ubuntu for Dummies? Is this something that there is interest in? Let me know your thoughts, or e-mail me mpm36 -- AT -- cornell --- dot ---- edu

TravisNewman
November 20th, 2004, 05:46 AM
Subscribe to the ubuntu-doc email list:
http://lists.ubuntulinux.org/mailman/listinfo/ubuntu-doc
They can get you going and tell you exactly what's available and what isn't, and maybe figure out a way to implement your ideas into their work, or vice versa.

jiyuu0
November 20th, 2004, 05:44 PM
http://kitech.com.my/ubuntu/4.10/index.html

TravisNewman
November 20th, 2004, 07:15 PM
You dated it December 20th. It's still Nov.

zenwhen
November 20th, 2004, 07:54 PM
Hes from the future.

I think I'm going to do one of these aimed towards the intermediate user, specifically those switching from Slackware.

jiyuu0
November 20th, 2004, 08:29 PM
You dated it December 20th. It's still Nov.