PDA

View Full Version : check statements in SQL

DouglasAWh
September 20th, 2007, 07:58 PM
I need to write a check statement in SQL that goes across two tables.

What I need in the check statement is something like:

CHECK (emp.eid = works.eid AND works.did=dept.did AND dept.managerid=emp.eid AND emp.age>30).

In English, I am trying to ensure that all managers are over 30 years old. Now, the question is, can I pull in the other tables, assuming those tables have already been created? There's no from statement in CREATE, so I don't know how it would know where to go. Do I just need to use an ALTER instead?

It's probably obvious, but I'm a beginner.

smartbei
September 20th, 2007, 09:52 PM
I don't believe you can. The CHECK statement is supposed to work on each column individually. Thus, your statement doesn't make sense. emp.eid, works.eid, works.did, etc. are all columns, and it doesn't make sense to compare them. If anything, you would be using a WHERE, but that isn't available in a CHECK statement. Therefore, I don't think what you are trying to do is possible. How do you plan on doing this with an ALTER?

DouglasAWh
September 20th, 2007, 11:19 PM
well, there's not an age in the dept category where the managerid resides. my understanding is that the CHECK can actually check multiple tables, but it can only act on one of those tables.

Matakoo
September 21st, 2007, 12:47 AM
It's probably obvious, but I'm a beginner.

Well, at the risk of showing my sql ignorance (well, not ignorance but I'm certainly no expert either)...which SQL server are you using? It may not be supported in the server version you're using. MySQL does not, for example - at least if my understanding of it is correct.