PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] OnBoard On screen Keyboard

BSBarrows
September 18th, 2007, 05:47 PM
I am trying to make a tablet out of my laptop, I have a touch screen and I am using the onboard keyboard, the only problem, when I put it to sleep, suspend it, when it returns it ask's for a password over a black screen and there is no way to open the keyboard that I know of. So if there is a way to get the keyboard so that it shows up on the wake up screen coming back from suspend, that will help me sooo much, because with out that I can't get back in after I suspend. Also if I get rid of the password prompt coming back from suspending the tablet. If anybody has a fix for this and can lay it out for me simply, I am new to Ubuntu. Thanks to anybody that can help me out.

BSBarrows
September 19th, 2007, 03:02 PM
come on people, does anybody know what to do?

Leaf
September 19th, 2007, 05:13 PM
In system->prefs->accessibility accessibility prefs

there is an option to show on screen keyboard at login.

You might want to check this thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=2957545&postcount=10 for information on how to resize/position it so it downt completely obscure your login box.

BSBarrows
September 19th, 2007, 07:08 PM
Yes there is a show at login button, and it does, but for some reason it doesn't show up when I try to log back in after I suspend the machine, I am trying to use this laptop as a tablet, there for it only has a touch pad, so I kinda really need this to get back from the suspend. If there is a way to get around not having a password coming back from suspend that would be even better. Thanks to anybody that can help, be it changing the suspend so I don't need a password, or the keyboard at log back in from suspension.

octathlon
September 20th, 2007, 12:23 AM
I haven't tested this, but if you run gconf-editor, under apps>gnome-power-manager, there are checkboxes for lock_on_hibernate and lock_on_suspend. You could try unchecking them.