PDA

View Full Version : Bittorrent

ExSuSEusr
September 16th, 2007, 10:53 PM
What's the best bittorrent for Ubuntu?

Kingsley
September 16th, 2007, 10:53 PM
I really like Azureus. Deluge is pretty decent too.

amazingtaters
September 16th, 2007, 10:58 PM
I like KTorrent, or Deluge, though there are a number of private trackers that don't allow Deluge.

blithen
September 16th, 2007, 11:17 PM
Yeah, I use deluge, only 'cause I get my torrent from demonoid.

ExSuSEusr
September 16th, 2007, 11:25 PM
Slow rates?

One of the files I am downloading says "1d10h" to finish... this is common for large files (3gigs or better)?

I am new to the bittorrent area.

Polygon
September 16th, 2007, 11:26 PM
I like KTorrent, or Deluge, though there are a number of private trackers that don't allow Deluge.

im sure the deluge developers would like to know which private trackers dont allow deluge so they can contact them and maybe figure out why and fix that in a future version.... mind posting them here?

CarpKing
September 16th, 2007, 11:32 PM
I use Deluge. I haven't tried a recent Azureus, but I like Deluge a lot more than the one I have.

wana10
September 16th, 2007, 11:32 PM
qtorrent, grab it from the repos, all configuration has to be manually done in .py files but it works well and is very light.

ExSuSEusr
September 16th, 2007, 11:41 PM
But, do large (huge) files typically take DAYS to download?

By large I mean like 2+ gigs...

Acglaphotis
September 16th, 2007, 11:42 PM
Ktorrent!

LookTJ
September 16th, 2007, 11:42 PM
deluge for gui, rtorrent for cli

LookTJ
September 16th, 2007, 11:43 PM
But, do large (huge) files typically take DAYS to download?

By large I mean like 2+ gigs...
Depends on your internet plan

ExSuSEusr
September 16th, 2007, 11:51 PM
Comcast

I get nice transfer rates in Frostwire.... just wondering if it's *typical* for such slow speeds over bittorrent.

I am new to using it, so I don't know what a good speed is.

LookTJ
September 16th, 2007, 11:57 PM
Comcast