PDA

View Full Version : why is Aptana IDE so slow?

loell
September 16th, 2007, 01:31 PM
i was playing with Eclipse / Aptana IDE , just wondering why it is so slow, do web developers really used this tool?

ola
September 16th, 2007, 04:45 PM
Well Eclipse is a HUGE tool. For me it's usable even though it sometimes feels a bit slow (at least when starting it).

I use it when I make Java/JSP sites since it has some built in features (for example the debugger) I like but for minor projects I tend to use another tool instead.

maddog39
September 16th, 2007, 05:46 PM
Im a PHP developer, and frankly, I HATE Eclipse and other hugely bloated IDE's like it. For web development, use something like bluefish or geany.

kknd
September 16th, 2007, 11:26 PM
Im a PHP developer, and frankly, I HATE Eclipse and other hugely bloated IDE's like it. For web development, use something like bluefish or geany.

I agree with you. Bluefish rocks. I don't feel good using Eclipse at all.

loell
September 17th, 2007, 12:35 AM
sometimes open source project hype , really makes me sad

touting Eclipse/ Aptana as a very good alternative for web development, though in truth it is slower than netbeans :(

Keymone
September 17th, 2007, 07:21 AM
when it comes to code hints eclipse is definitely faster. i use Eclipse for everything, i just run it and do not shutdown until i finish everything i want to do..

and Aptana is very good tool for web-development. i was not very happy about aptana got over radrails project because it was quite dead for a long time but now i can see some movement there so maybe everything is not so bad :)

P.S. ofcourse everything is about your computer specs. you can use vi and you will never have performance issues but i do need some more than code highlight in bluefish. so i just bought more RAM and more Ghz and i am happy Eclipse user.

loell
September 17th, 2007, 09:45 AM