PDA

View Full Version : python/ perl/ c / bash for what task?

adhg
September 16th, 2007, 04:26 AM
hi there,
I have a very abstract/conceptual question: I'm a J2EE developer and I'm just getting familiar with Linux. Truth is that lots of the stuff that I used to program in Java could have been easily solved with a simple bash script.

I realized that some of you write in python/perl/C. My question is this: When will you develop your script in python/perl/bash? Of course this depends on the task...so for what task will you choose python (eg)?

thanks
adhg

Stephen Howard
September 16th, 2007, 04:37 AM
With scripting languages, I don't think the choice is really based on the programming task. Instead, I see the key factor being the size of the project:

small: bash
bigger (but not much): perl
big: python

I've ignored C because it isn't a scripting language.

adhg
September 16th, 2007, 04:42 AM
thank Stephen for your prompt reply.
ok...I get the idea. Q: can python translate a bash script? in other words, can python execute the same thing as bash do? if the answer is yes, I think I'll give a try to python because it is more robust (I looked at the code and it has some similarities to Java)

what do you think?

ghostdog74
September 16th, 2007, 05:47 AM
. Q: can python translate a bash script?
in other words, can python execute the same thing as bash do?

yes..and much more.

if the answer is yes, I think I'll give a try to python because it is more robust (I looked at the code and it has some similarities to Java)

what do you think?
go ahead. It will be easy for you to pick up, since you came from a Java OO background.

slavik
September 16th, 2007, 07:36 AM
small: bash
medium: perl (since my sed/awk skill aren't as nice)
big: perl

Cappy
September 16th, 2007, 09:26 AM
I'm going to sort those by function:

---

bash: system maintenance scripts with minimal effort. Well suited for automating tasks or performing many operations with a few lines of code.