PDA

View Full Version : Why a $ command line?

BigJules
September 14th, 2007, 07:32 PM
So I'm a newbie from the Other Side. Still nobody's told me why Linux has a "$" (!!!) for a command line prefix while (at least while they had one) Micro$oft had a ">" which literally translated says a lot about their modesty.

Come on, Ubuntu, time for a change? Or can we suggest one?

Spike-X
September 14th, 2007, 07:33 PM
Why not?

Lord Illidan
September 14th, 2007, 07:36 PM
Does it matter so much? The default setting is a dollar sign when running as a normal user and a pound sign # when running as root. You can change this, of course.

Read here : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dollar_sign#Use_on_computers

glupee
September 14th, 2007, 07:36 PM
I think there's a way to change it. Not sure tho, will look into it.

EDIT: lol, typed as you posted (Lord Illiad) i guess.

fwojciec
September 14th, 2007, 07:40 PM
Of course there is a way to change it - it's linux ;)

Calash
September 14th, 2007, 07:41 PM
It has to do with the terminal shell you are using.

Ubuntu ships with BASH, and that uses $ by default for a standard user, # for root.

This can be changed using the export command.

As for why they picked $....no idea :)

igknighted
September 14th, 2007, 07:42 PM
Mine has a %, because I use the z-shell. I think that there are a few *nix shells that use > as well (tcsh or ksh maybe? I forget...). Bash chose to use $ for whatever reason, and since that is what Ubuntu uses as default thats what you have as default. But that shell (and even within bash the symbols it uses) can all be changed.

Spike-X
September 14th, 2007, 07:45 PM
... a pound sign #

*psst* That's actually a 'hash' sign (or 'sharp', if you're a musician)

This is a pound sign: £

Bothered
September 14th, 2007, 07:45 PM
It's set according to your PS1 environment variable.

Lord Illidan
September 14th, 2007, 07:55 PM