PDA

View Full Version : realplayer won't start



panickedthumb
August 7th, 2005, 04:31 PM
apt-get installing realplayer from backports installs fine, but it won't start. No error text, nothing, it just doesn't start.

Installing it from the .bin works fine.

SFN
August 7th, 2005, 05:01 PM
Thta's odd. It runs fine here. Just double-checked it to make sure. Ran it both from the menu and as a plugin in Firefox for ifilm.

I'm sure I didn't do the bin install. I'm way too lazy for that.

mingus
August 7th, 2005, 05:54 PM
apt-get installing realplayer from backports installs fine, but it won't start. No error text, nothing, it just doesn't start.

Installing it from the .bin works fine.

Same here. When run from the terminal, nothing. System monitor reports the processes are running.

The .bin you got from the realplayer.com site? Also doesn't work?

EDIT: Fixed with making the change to esd.conf

[esd]
auto_spawn=1
spawn_options=-terminate -nobeeps -as 2
spawn_wait_ms=100
# default options are used in spawned and non-spawned mode
default_options=

I had noticed that previously under Preferences/Multimedia Selector that while ESD would test ok, Alsa and OSS would not. Yet sound was fine. Turned off sound server in Preferences/Sound, made change to esd.conf, reset that option, now Realplayer works incl video, as does the Firefox plugin.

npaladin2000
August 7th, 2005, 06:08 PM
Same here. When run from the terminal, nothing. System monitor reports the processes are running.

The .bin you got from the realplayer.com site? Also doesn't work?

Hear hear. Don't work. Same deal.

jromer
August 8th, 2005, 03:03 AM
Knowing this might be a different situation but hoping it might help you like it did me...

I had the situation where I run RP and it doesn't play...then 30-60 secs later the file starts. (I believe this would only happen the first time I'd start RP for the session...)

I ended up going into system settings->sound audio and changed the Auto-suspend setting from 30 sec to 10 sec.

Now RP launches,,,still a little delayed but OK.

lomomo
August 8th, 2005, 04:16 PM
try disabling sound server (esd), when enabled realplayer is not working for me too. i posted a bug report about it.

You can disable sound server using menu system->preferences->sound (i'm not using english version, so it may be not exactly that) and reboot. Or you can just open a terminal and type: killall esd.

It works for me, but i need to enable/disable esd when i want to use realplayer or totem.

mingus
August 8th, 2005, 04:41 PM
try disabling sound server (esd), when enabled realplayer is not working for me too. i posted a bug report about it.

You can disable sound server using menu system->preferences->sound (i'm not using english version, so it may be not exactly that) and reboot. Or you can just open a terminal and type: killall esd.

It works for me, but i need to enable/disable esd when i want to use realplayer or totem.

Note my post above. Did you change the /etc/esound/esd.conf file?

lomomo
August 8th, 2005, 04:55 PM
ooppss! i didn't changed the esd.conf... :roll:

i just changed the file and it now works fine. What's the meaning of that options?

mingus
August 8th, 2005, 05:09 PM
What's the meaning of that options?

Enables esound to hand-off to another sound server in 2 seconds.

sujitkumar
September 11th, 2005, 02:40 AM
the solution given above is worked perfectly....
thank u very much...
very very much...

idn
September 12th, 2005, 03:11 AM
Well done mate! Fixed it for me :)


Same here. When run from the terminal, nothing. System monitor reports the processes are running.

The .bin you got from the realplayer.com site? Also doesn't work?

EDIT: Fixed with making the change to esd.conf

[esd]
auto_spawn=1
spawn_options=-terminate -nobeeps -as 2
spawn_wait_ms=100
# default options are used in spawned and non-spawned mode
default_options=

I had noticed that previously under Preferences/Multimedia Selector that while ESD would test ok, Alsa and OSS would not. Yet sound was fine. Turned off sound server in Preferences/Sound, made change to esd.conf, reset that option, now Realplayer works incl video, as does the Firefox plugin.

blitzny
September 14th, 2005, 01:32 AM
I can't wirte to the esd.conf. It says I am not the owner..... Wtf?

idn
September 16th, 2005, 02:09 PM
you have to do it as root.

sudo gedit /etc/esound/esd.conf