PDA

View Full Version : MythtTV Users: Happy with Ubuntu?

tom-ubuntu
August 7th, 2005, 04:16 PM
Hi MythTV Users

I got a Mythtv Box with running still FC2 which I like to update sooner then later. Thinking about using Ubuntu for this purpose. What are your experiences so far? Perhaps compared to other distros? Would you recommend using Ubuntu? If not, what else? What were the issues you had? Every comment is welcome :)

Cheers Joe

tom-ubuntu
August 8th, 2005, 05:41 PM
The number of replies says a lot.... ;-)

dannotdan
August 8th, 2005, 06:03 PM
I've been using MythTV for about 10 months. When I did my initial setup I really wanted it to be with Ubuntu. Ultimately I gave up and used wilsonet.com's FC3 tutorial.

Ubuntu has lived on my desktop since pre-4.10 and I've never been a big Fedora fan. Now I am also thinking about making the Ubuntu switch for the entertainment center. The two issues I ran into last year were LIRC keymaps and X output on the Hauppauge PVR350. I have since switched to NVIDIA TV-OUT so that just leaves LIRC.

Let me know how the setup goes for you. It will probably be a few weeks before I get to this project but I will be sure to post about my experience.

tom-ubuntu
August 12th, 2005, 10:38 AM
Ok, I am almost finished with my migration from FC2 to Ubuntu. So far, it was quite easy, with a few hurdles:

- forgot to install kernel-headers to compile ivtv (guide didn't mention it)
- Alsa muted my sound output, which took me a while to figure out

Otherwise it is working great. Watching videos and DVD is the most important feature for me; both works fine.

Todo:
- MythMusic is installed, but does not show up in MythTV. Any ideas?
- Box reboots on shutdown, very annoying
- Channel definition has to be redone, they are almost not visible. Looks like something changed from ivtv 1.x to 2.x which I am using now.
- Removing service which are not needed (internet superserver: what the heck is this?)

Could be improved: