PDA

View Full Version : Open University?

curuxz
September 12th, 2007, 09:43 AM
I just filled out the form to enroll for courses leading to a law degree with the Open University (the LLB).

I hopefully will be doing "Legal Studies" and "An introduction to the social sciences: understanding social change" both are level 1 60 point courses. I was wondering if anyone else has done the OU on here or similar courses? :)

purdy hate machine
September 12th, 2007, 10:16 AM
Good luck.
Love the OU, I’m currently half way through my Geosciences degree.

beercz
September 12th, 2007, 10:21 AM
I have an OU degree - I did all mathematics and computing modules.

I finished in 2002 - after 9 years (my choice), studying part time!!

My OU degree opened many doors for me, and it's not just about the subject matter. My OU degree says a lot about my commitment, dedication and strength of character, time management, problem solving and organisation skills as well as the knowledge I have learned.

It also enabled me to do further post graduate studies (a Masters degree), but with another institution.

Good luck with it - enjoy it. Hopefully you will not take as long as me.

My biggest tip is to try and do a little bit every day, preferably at the same sort of time (a bit like jogging), and try not to get behind.

ddrichardson
September 12th, 2007, 12:08 PM
I have been doing OU for some time (now Computing with Psychology) and can recommend it greatly.

It opens doors you'd never expect it to: with my bosses, who think it's great; future employment - in more areas than I had previously considered; working in distributed environments; friends I've made both on the same course and within my workshop who are doing OU; improved time management and particularly writing skills.

I can't recommend it enough - especially if you are lucky enough to have an employer that will financially support your training (like mine does).