PDA

View Full Version : Possibility of IT internship in New Zealand / Australia?

hardyn
September 12th, 2007, 03:48 AM
I am a recent Canadian university graduate, I am planning some travel in New Zealand / Australia for the coming month(s) and was considering obtaining a "Working Holiday Visa". As a part of my travel, I would be interesting in seeking some short term, internship-like, employment in the IT sector; entry level position is just fine and I'm not particularity picky about what sector (help desk, administration etc.).

I am trained as a Mechanical Engineer with a specialty in "Mechatronics" (integrated, electro-mechanical technology). While my degree is in mechanical engineering, through my course work and personal interests, my professional interests have shifted to that of IT and computing technologies in general. As a result I am considering graduate studies in computer engineering.

In addition numerous elective coursework in software and computer engineering, I possess a tremendous amount of informal computing experience through the administration, design and repair of my own computer systems and the computer systems of friends and family (and an obviously competence and a passion for Linux/Unix systems). To stay current with new technological trends and to assist and collaborate with other computing technology enthusiasts, I am an avid reader of and contributor to computing technology journals, blogs, and forums.

I consider myself to be a Linux and Windows "power-user" and have experience programming in C and Python. With my engineering background I have demonstrated skills in numeracy, critical thinking, analytic problem solving and decision making.

If you feel that I may be a benefit to your organization (a temporary position for modest renumeration), I would be happy to transmit my CV and speak with you further about any available temporary positions.

Thank you.
( Please contact me though private message on this forum.)

Tux Aubrey