PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu: "Linux for Dummies"?

Ebuntor
September 11th, 2007, 10:58 PM
Hi everyone,

A few days ago I went to the helpdesk in my university to fix my laptop's wireless connection. When I said which Linux distro I used (Ubuntu of course) the girl who was helping me replied: “Ah, Linux for Dummies”.

At first I thought that was pretty funny but got me thinking. Is she right? Is Ubuntu one of the big distros which is more user friendly and is meant for/used by novice as well as advanced users? Or is it really just a dumbed down Linux distro for the masses?

If something is user friendly should that automatically mean it's (only) for unexperienced/ex-Windows users?

Now I'm not very experienced with Linux (been using for almost a year now) but I just can't imagine why you wouldn't want a user friendly operating system even if you're an expert. Why would you want to do every thing manually or the hard way (unless you're just doing it for fun)?

jrusso2
September 11th, 2007, 11:03 PM
Aww did she hurt your manhood? I have been hearing that since I started 11 years ago. First it was said about Redhat, then Mandrake, then Corel Linux.

Use what you like and don't worry about anyone else.

You can use Ubuntu all commands if you want and edit everything by hand just like any other linux if thats what you want.

But, you also have the option of some decent GUI tools.

voided3
September 11th, 2007, 11:06 PM
To say it simply, Linux can be pre-packaged to be whatever you want it to be and be advertised under a given image, but that doesn't stop you from doing whatever you want with it and making it something for a more experienced user. Some people may stick in the live CD, install it, and not change a thing for years, just using the standard configuration while others may go nuts on it and make it really tailored for their hardware or visual preference. That's why it's advertised as being for humans :-D

Ebuntor
September 11th, 2007, 11:08 PM