PDA

View Full Version : C prog. nested loops?

caoinan
September 9th, 2007, 12:07 AM
I didnt really feel like I should post in this section because I'm just learning to program C on my own from C Primer Plus but i'm stuck on one of these exercises in chapter 6 question 2. ok here is the exercise

2. Use nested loops to produce the following pattern:

$
$$
$$$
$$$$
$$$$$

------------------------------------------------
so I am suppose to create this using a for loop I'm pretty sure so if u can explain this to me with out giving me the answer I would really appreciate it and if you could explain it without giving me things that dont come until later chapters i'd appreciate it

dwhitney67
September 9th, 2007, 12:14 AM
#include <stdio.h>

int main()
{
int i, j;
for ( i = 0; i < 5; ++i )
{
for ( j = 0; j < i+1; ++j )
{
printf( "$" );
}
printf( "\n" );
}
}

I can't believe you are already "cheating" on what appears to be a first assignment!

Here's the explanation: The outer loop increments the variable i by 1 each time it loops, for 5 loops, and just at the end of the loop prints a carriage return. The interior loop is the one responsible for printing the $ character(s). It prints a number of $ character(s) equal the number of times the outer for-loop has been executed. I hope this makes sense.

caoinan
September 9th, 2007, 12:19 AM
I am not cheating I didn't want the answer I wanted someone to explain how to do it. He didnt explain well enough(at least to me) what I need to do to make a specific number of rows and have things and a specific part of the row. I'm not going to look at the answer you posted unless I really really have to. I would rather someone explain how to make a specifc number of columns and rows and place things in a specific spot. and yes that does make sense
ps I dont cheat I'm trying to learn it and I didnt ask for the answer

dwhitney67
September 9th, 2007, 12:22 AM