PDA

View Full Version : Which *nix version?

Pitbull11188
September 8th, 2007, 11:45 AM
I have been using ubuntu for 4 years, 3 years of which it was my primary OS and for the past 6 months I have been toying around on the terminal more and more often.

My question is for someone who would like to learn the more traditional aspects of *nix, but also be able to get the latest and greatest software if I so choose, which *nix would you use?

1.) Gentoo - excellent learning experience, totally from source

2.) Slackware - it's traditional linux

3.) FreeBSD - it's pure

While i like to have a nice desktop to fall back on and even use in tangent with the CLI, I would like to learn the command line much more thoroughly.

I like and intend to learn about these programs and features:

1.) vim
2.) ssh
3.) bash scripting
4.) slimming down start up processes and the like

I know all this can be done with ubuntu, but I want a more traditional system, I'm leaning towards freeBSD, but since it has many differences from linux I think slackware may be a better option.

Gentoo being highly customizable and configurable could definitely fit the bill, but is it the right choice to gain skills that are general to all *nix systems?

nowshining
September 8th, 2007, 11:47 AM
the one I am using now :) ubuntu

Arwen
September 8th, 2007, 12:03 PM
You could try out Solaris 10,it's a magical experience,you have to manually mount everything and when it comes to usb ports it's a real party :-P

Pitbull11188
September 8th, 2007, 12:20 PM
I'm not quite that anal retentive about my OS. I just want to be able to learn the CLI, bash scripting, and the way the system works.

luisromangz
September 8th, 2007, 12:55 PM
If you just want to learn to use the CLI and bash scripting and such things, there is no reason not to do so in Ubuntu even if it's not a "traditional *nix" whatever that means :P. And FreeBSD is way behind any linux distribution in terms of hardware and software support.