PDA

View Full Version : Sorry, but I have to ask....

Midahed
September 7th, 2007, 04:14 PM
...another of those 'which language' / 'what tools' questions #-o

Well, not quite...

I moved across to Linux just a few months ago and, although I have a Windows guest running under VMware, I'm trying to avoid using Windows any more than the absolute minimum.

As I'm recently retired I want to do a bit of application design and development for my own entertainment and to help keep the brain cells working. I used to work in IT, latterly in database administration (Oracle and SQL Server) and some small back-office application development, mainly using VB :oops:

I'd like to learn something new, but at the same time I'm hooked on the super-RAD environment that is part of the world of VB and Microsoft. I also like having a set of tools that are designed to work well together.

Although I've written a lot of code for applications that have subsequently gone on to be used for many years, I don't really consider myself a programmer. I like to be able to quickly test that what I've written does what I think it will, so for that reason I'm drawn to an interpreted language as opposed to having to go through the compile and link cycle every time I want to try something.

I don't see myself writing drivers or having to call low-level functions in the OS. I'm not interested in web development - I'm looking for something that will play well with a local MySQL back-end database and where it's easy to build forms and populate them with controls - preferably in a VB-like GUI environment.

Is Python the right tool for this? I also considered Java and NetBeans, but I'm more drawn to Python at the moment.