PDA

View Full Version : Application Development in Ubuntu

shoaibnawaz
September 4th, 2007, 07:32 AM
I am new to Linux based programming. I have no idea how to work on rapid application development in Ubuntu. Java and Mono.net are latest rapid application development platforms are available on Linux. But the performance of Java and Mono.net application can be slow. I want to write native programming code for Linux as I use Win32 APIs or MFC on Windows.

Which is the best Graphical User Interface Toolkit for Linux?
How to write c/c++ code and compile?
How to write cross platform application for Windows and Linux as Firefox?

eentonig
September 4th, 2007, 07:44 AM
Most development in Ubuntu is done with python.

For improved speed, some modules can then be (re)written in C/c++ and integrated to your program.

Sensenseppl
September 4th, 2007, 07:50 AM
You might want to check out "Eclipse", which should be installed on your Ubuntu system by default.
Eclipse is a great development environment for java, c++ and many other languages. It also spares you by-hand compiling of your code.

Writing cross-platform applications with java isn't that hard. Simply look out for things like file-separators and carriage returns. If you want to program something with a GUI, check out http://www.eclipse.org/swt/.

I hope I could help and didn't give too much information about things you already know or didn't want to know in the first place. :)

Compyx
September 4th, 2007, 08:18 AM

There's a whole bunch of 'em, I personally prefer Gtk+ as I hate KDE, but there's other toolkits such as QT (KDE's GUI toolkit) and wxWidgets.

You're kidding, right?

First off, there is no C/C++, there is C and there is C++, although C++ derives from C it has become a completely different language. The 'right' way to do something in C is usually the wrong way to do it in C++, and vice-versa.