PDA

View Full Version : Help in C++ programming

arcanistherogue
August 4th, 2005, 03:45 AM
Well, I started learning C++ after having an average knowledge of python. My friend offered to help me out. He said I shouldn't use "cout" and "cin" because I have to include programs with them, which makes the file larger when compiled. He told me about printf and scanf.

I have been learning from a "For Dummies" book, and it says to include those programs and to use cout and cin. I have been working on changing the programs to use the functions my friend told me about, but I am getting some errors.

Here are two versions of a program in the current chapter I'm on, the first is from windows and the second is my (poorly) translated one.

// WhileDemo - input a loop count. Loop while
// outputting astring arg number of times.
#include <cstdio>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main(int nNumberofArgs, char* pszArgs[])
{
// input the loop count
int loopCount;
cout << "Enter loopCount: ";
cin >> loopCount;

// now loop that many times
while (loopCount > 0)
{
loopCount = loopCount - 1;
cout << "Only " << loopCount << " loops to go\n";
}

// wait until user is ready before terminating program
// to allow the user to see the program results
system("PAUSE");
return 0;
}
And here is my version:

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
{
int stop;
int loop;
printf("How many times do you want to loop? ");
scanf("%d", &loop);

while (loop > 0)
{
loop = loop - 1;
printf("Only ");
printf(loop);
printf(" loops to go!");
}

printf("Press Enter to Quit");
scanf("%d", &stop);
}
Well, when I tried to run the program with g++, I got this error:

john@ubuntu:~/Desktop/Programs/C++$ g++ whileloop.cpp
whileloop.cpp: In function `int main()':
whileloop.cpp:16: error: invalid conversion from `int' to `const char*'
whileloop.cpp:24:1: warning: no newline at end of file
I don't know what to do with these errors, I haven't seen them before. How do I go about fixing these?

Retrix