PDA

View Full Version : Active Directory

dwilliams07
August 29th, 2007, 07:57 PM
Hello,

I am new to Ubuntu (Linux in general) but I have been very impressed with it. I'm trying to prove to my co-workers that it can be used in our Active Director Domain. Can somebody please tell me how to join an Ubuntu 7.04 desktop to an AD domain? I recently tried a program named Sadms but I keep getting error messages. I just need to a clean and easy way to do this. I'm trying to show folks that there is a better and cheaper way. Please help!!

siafulinux
August 30th, 2007, 06:11 AM
Hi dwilliams!

Congrats on joining the Ubuntu/Linux world!

Unfortunately I have not worked with Active Directory Domain servers and so do not have any experience with it. I did a bit of research and found some guides that may be able to help you with your problem.

I am assuming you are trying to access the already established Windows Active Directory Domain Server? If not, I also looked into some guides into setting up an Ubuntu based server instead.

---
Now, on to accessing a windows ADD Server.

The first guide is fairly short and to the point and can be found at http://www.onnoot.com/wiki/how_to_join_ubuntu_samba_to_a_windows_2003_active_ directory_domain
Though dealing with Ubuntu 5.10 I am certain it will work for newer versions of Ubuntu as well.

It too, like SADMS, uses Samba and Kerberos, but might be a more hands on alternative to using SADMS directly.

I also found a longer guide at https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ActiveDirectoryWinbindHowto

Also give us the errors you are receiving while trying to set this up using SADMS. It'll give us a better idea of what we are looking at.

---
On the other hand if you are trying to set up a server with Ubuntu to allow your Windows (and other / Linux) machines to be authenticated from it you can use the Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP). Actually OpenLDAP. Active Directory Domain is in fact a Windows implementation of LDAP.