PDA

View Full Version : Will Linux users pay for good apps?

bigbearomaha
August 26th, 2007, 05:17 AM
The goal of the poll is to get an idea of whether Linux users will support app development that would provide higher quality software but allow the developer/business to make a living at making solid apps.

Fonon
August 26th, 2007, 05:19 AM
I myself believe that high quality software should be allowed to be sold. However, it does have to be very good software, and i do think the source code should be available with it.

selda
August 26th, 2007, 05:46 AM
I have no problems with paying for software, but I always look for free alternatives first

Chilli Bob
August 26th, 2007, 05:48 AM
I voted for the first option. It surprises me that programs like Word Perfect and Quatro Pro have never tried to port over to Linux (This may well be impossible, I'm no programmer). It seems to me that there is a market out there for people seeking a non-windows environment but for whatever reason don't like open-source apps.

Personaly I would stick with Abiword and Gnumeric, but would happily pay for a decent propietory video editor.

bigbearomaha
August 26th, 2007, 05:49 AM
I work with a business oriented version of Linux and this is an issue that comes up with remarkable intensity.

Many of the requests we get to find apps to include in the business version of Linux are essentially asking for apps that are equivalent to many " professional" and pay for apps. Is it "fair" to programmers to demand such quality for no cost, they do have families to feed also.

On the same token, I don't think there is any one who wants Linux to become a big money bonanza for development where companies and strike it rich programmers are simply trying to make a bang whiz app they can charge an arm and a leg for to get rich overnight either.

The solution lies, as usual, somewhere in the middle.

Big Bear

st33med
August 26th, 2007, 05:56 AM