PDA

View Full Version : Getting nvidia to run xserver on debian- HELP

seattle vic
August 26th, 2007, 02:12 AM
I'm a bit new to Linux, so don't know all the processes and sequences of getting nvidia drivers to install correctly, so would "really" appreciate some help.

I have a new pc with an nv 8600 GT installed. I have vista on the machine and also ubuntu, and they both run it well, at full resolution (1920 x 1200) for my wide screen monitor. With debian, I've been getting a crash that says it cannot find a driver.

Ubuntu uses the nv driver, and I've tried that as well as nvidia with debian, but with no luck. I've been wrestling with this for a week. I've tried to look up everything I can on this and finally tied to substitute vesa for the driver. That worked, though only gets me to 1280 x 1024.

Today, I took some advice and downloaded the latest nvidia driver (100.14.11) and used the nvidia installer. It was some progress in that it didn't give me the message that it couldn't find the driver or load xserver. But the screen was blank.

This shouldn't be that difficult, right? I've tried several sequences over the last week to get all the modules loaded in the right order, but maybe I need to start over.

I'm extremely frustrated, so some advice, or pointer to the right sequence of events would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Vic

oldlucky
August 26th, 2007, 02:39 AM
I'm a bit new to Linux, so don't know all the processes and sequences of getting nvidia drivers to install correctly, so would "really" appreciate some help.

I have a new pc with an nv 8600 GT installed. I have vista on the machine and also ubuntu, and they both run it well, at full resolution (1920 x 1200) for my wide screen monitor. Withdebian, I've been getting a crash that says it cannot find a driver.