PDA

View Full Version : If you could choose your hardware first...

Baby Uranus
August 24th, 2007, 07:32 AM
Hello Gang,

This is my first post here. I've built a decent amount of linux boxes but I'm new to Ubuntu as of a few months ago. I was impressed with how easy it was to get mediawiki up and running on a lamp server.

Now I am going to build a new machine to run another lamp server. But before I get on newegg, for a change I'm going to ask people who have already been around the block (i.e. you), which chipsets to avoid on the motherboard and on the video card, and which chipsets have been good actors. That's the gist of this post.

To narrow things a bit, I'll say that I'm currently thinking of running 7.04 server, getting php/apache/mysql/mediawiki, bind, postfix, mailx, vsftpd, and ssh configured, then adding the ubuntu gui/desktop environment. Everything worked well with 6.06, but I have no idea about 7.04. I'm sure I'll find out. I'm a little worried about php in the 64-bit environment.

For hardware, I'm thinking intel, core 2 duo (most of my existing machines are AMD, but it seems time for a switch back). OTOH if the consensus was to go with amd because of chipset issues, I'd be fine with doing so. The only thing I'm rather militant on is I want to stick with nvidia for the graphics chipset, but I very much would like feedback reg. which specific nvidia graphics chipsets work and which ones don't work well, especially with twinview. Ideally I'd like to avoid stuff like the xorg.conf changes necessary to get my mx4000 card running with twinview, etc. So far my favorite linux video chipset has been the FX5200.

Thanks for any info, in advance!

bdoe
August 24th, 2007, 08:29 AM