PDA

View Full Version : Is there any good application to organize PDF article files?

tak1150
August 23rd, 2007, 11:52 PM
This question has been somewhat asked before, but not to my satisfaction :)

As a researcher, I go through MANY PDF articles a day. I have been manually organizing them by categories. i.e.,

/home/me/Research/project1/sub-category/sub-sub-category/article.pdf
,etc

Which is a pretty good way to find the pdf files, but manually renaming the files so that I'll know which files to look at and manually placing these articles in the appropriate directories are getting to me these days.

Does anybody have a good system using either a script or app?
This page seems to suggest cb2Bib. Does anybody recommend it?
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuScience

Thank you!

melissawm
August 24th, 2007, 02:23 PM
I use Tellico for the same purpose (math grad student) and I like it, but it's still cumbersome to add a new article.. However once it's done you can quickly recover any article by author, subject or title. If you find something else that works better, let us know.

earlycj5
August 24th, 2007, 02:41 PM

As a researcher, I go through MANY PDF articles a day. I have been manually organizing them by categories. i.e.,

,etc

Which is a pretty good way to find the pdf files, but manually renaming the files so that I'll know which files to look at and manually placing these articles in the appropriate directories are getting to me these days.

Thank you!

cb2bib or Referencer which was just discussed here recently in another thread on organizing PDFs (currently the sixth topic in the Science and Education Index page). http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=503365 ;)

cb2bib seems to do a bit better at recognizing the data in the PDF but Referencer is more of what I'd like to use.

miesnerd
April 26th, 2009, 03:08 AM

,etc

Thank you!