PDA

View Full Version : Should I...

kiv
August 23rd, 2007, 01:51 AM
I have been using Ubuntu on my pc (single booting) for 8 months now & I love it.

However, I have just purchased a new laptop to take to uni to study computing. Which, no doubt, will invlove some windows based object orientated programming.

The laptop - Philips X58:
Intel Core 2 Duo
2gb Ram
120gb hard drive
Intel 950 graphics
Bluetooth,firewire etc...
Windows Vista.

Now I LOVE Ubuntu and I want to install it on my laptop. At least i think I do, however, something is holding me back and I don't know what. Maybe its because its new. Maybe it's because of the programming at uni. each time I run the live cd on my laptop I get closer & closer to actually installing it.

I think I just need some encouragement and solutions to the programming. I also do alot of web design, so anything on that front would be helpful too.

Any comments regarding particular variations of ubuntu/linux that you prefer/may be better to install on a laptop will be welcome too.

Jamie Jackson
August 23rd, 2007, 02:12 AM
I'm running Ubuntu with XP in a Virtual Machine. Of course you have to have the XP license to do this legitimately, but you might not know that you can do the VM stuff (with VMWare Server, even) legitimately and for free.

I have a core 2 duo and 2GB RAM, and it runs pretty smoothly (not so with 1GB RAM).

I rarely use the Windows, even though I'm in a 100% Windows (on the desktop) corporation.

Does that help?

jimrz
August 23rd, 2007, 02:17 AM
dual boot?

blithen
August 23rd, 2007, 02:32 AM
There are INSANE amounts of small programming tools. Gedit is one of them actually, it has syntax high lighting. If you want something a little better then that go with SciTE Text Editor. But this also depends on what programming language you want to use. I only do a tiny amount of python so this is perfect for me. Good luck!

WanderingKnight
August 23rd, 2007, 02:34 AM