PDA

View Full Version : Electronic Music

fppl
August 22nd, 2007, 06:59 PM
Just thought if you guys could tell me about some nice new electronic music. I like elec drums and stuff mostly. :D

I'm just asking because I know NOTHING about it.. I'm more of a classic rock kind of guy, but suddenly just got the urge to get some techno.

tbroderick
August 22nd, 2007, 07:04 PM
Techno has no soul.

FuturePilot
August 22nd, 2007, 07:08 PM
Trance FTW!

fppl
August 22nd, 2007, 07:20 PM
For the record, I can't listen to all that loud stuff. I like rythmic stuff, though. Something that doesn't blow your head up, but the exact opposite. Opens it for creative stuff. :D See, I'm a graphic artist. :p And I don't want to replace music with weed :p I'm sure there's some good techno stuff out there!

crimesaucer
August 22nd, 2007, 07:24 PM
Techno has no soul.

b.s.

Deep house, Soulful house, Progressive house, are some of the only soulful sounds out there today. Same thing goes for Jungle, DUB, and Illbient.

Obviously you've never heard a quality DJ spinning real records and mixes with true soulful blends.

I do agree that "most" techno that frat dorks listen to, or lame "soulless" clubs play is crap (like the jock techno at sporting events)...and most people wouldn't know the difference between crappy "pop-techno- 'Let's Go Barbie' crap" and a true DJ spinning creative beats, blends, and mixes with old albums most would consider very soulful...(Stevie Wonder, Funkadelic, Prince, Rick James, Frank Zappa, Musiq Soulchild, D'Angelo, Marvin Gaye, Ohio Players, Slum Villa, De La, Burning Spear, Lee Scratch Perry, New Order, etc...)

fppl
August 22nd, 2007, 07:30 PM
So where can I get that stuff? :p

Monona
August 22nd, 2007, 07:33 PM
Beats and synthesizers can save your soul, I swear. Here's a couple classic albums that might be a good entry point for you:

Underworld - Second Toughest in Infants: Good beats, with vocals working their way in, out and around