PDA

View Full Version : Visual Studio Style Development tool?

shavenlunatic
August 22nd, 2007, 01:31 PM
Hi,

I will start by saying that I am by no means a great programmer, but I began coding in BASIC, did a little pascal.. am fairly ok with coding in VB/VBA.. nothing special but I get the logic behind it and can usually manange to create something when I set my mind to it.

I haven't thought about coding anything in Linux before, I see lots kicking around about Python and C++/#/whatever..

Basically, what I was "hoping" is available is an equivalent of Visual Basic ...obviously not with basic as the language, but the same principle, form, create buttons, stick code/modules behind them and away you go.. I should be ok just learning the syntax of a new language but I was hoping to be able to create something visually and then throw code at it (a-la-Visual Studio)

Any advice on which I should start learning? (i don't want to start learning python and then find out its not what I was looking for)

Sorry if i seem ignorant on this matter, I haven't looked into it much until this moment and jusdt trying to gather as much information as I can while I'm still buzzing about the idea of coding :)

Wybiral
August 22nd, 2007, 01:39 PM
Like Glade (http://glade.gnome.org/)?

shavenlunatic
August 22nd, 2007, 02:02 PM
cheers :) , yeah glade looks like the kind of thing I'm looking for

a mate of mine just suggested using Mono & C#.. any advantages/disadvantages of mono over glade?

Also, looks like both Mono & Glade both support pretty much any language.. would C# be a good place to start or should I be looking at Python or an alternative?

LaRoza
August 22nd, 2007, 02:09 PM
cheers :) , yeah glade looks like the kind of thing I'm looking for

a mate of mine just suggested using Mono & C#.. any advantages/disadvantages of mono over glade?