PDA

View Full Version : Starting to program; a few questions

DeathOnJuice
August 22nd, 2007, 04:49 AM
I just started programming a few days ago in Python (my first program can be seen here: http://python-forum.org/py/viewtopic.php?p=21392), and I liked the language. I know a lot about computers in general and some about programming concepts, so I can jump into language (except, maybe, assembly :) ). However, before I throw all my effort into one language, I have a few questions to ask.

1. For game development (both 2D and 3D), or just working with 3D graphics, which language would you suggest? I'm guessing C++ works for both or Python for 2D, but I'm not quite sure.

2. For a general-purpose language (file parsing, GUIs, basic networking stuff, etc.), what would you suggest? Again, I'm guessing Python (probably) or C++.

3. I know that the -dev packages (i.e. freeglut3-dev) are used for creating programs. However, I thought that dynamically linked libraries (I may be way off on this) were only used when the program was run. So, what's the use of the non-dev packages?

4. Could someone give a brief explanation of OpenGL, SDL, and what languages they can be used with? I'm especially confused about SDL.

5. Finally, could I get a couple book or tutorial suggestions for the languages you recommend (as in one for C++ Games, one for Python general purpose, etc.)? I know there are many in the sticky, but I was hoping to narrow down the choices a bit.

Thanks for reading all that. If some of the questions are unanswerable (I tried to be specific), could you give some pros and cons? In case it matters much, I'm doing everything in Ubuntu.

Mirrorball
August 22nd, 2007, 05:17 AM
so I can jump into language (except, maybe, assembly :) ).
n00b :)

1. For game development (both 2D and 3D), or just working with 3D graphics, which language would you suggest? I'm guessing C++ works for both or Python for 2D, but I'm not quite sure.