PDA

View Full Version : Tips for an Install Party?

MarieTeresa
August 20th, 2007, 06:56 AM
Hey Ev'rybody,
I've been running Ubuntu since January as my first Linux install on my own machine, and it's been awesome. I'm a computer science student, and I'd like to have a little install party in October to help some of my other female cs friends get Linux on their own machines, not just use it in the computer labs.

Anybody have any tips for a first-timer what makes a good install party? Technical, time scale, supplies, etc?

Thanks!
Marie

rharriso
August 20th, 2007, 08:56 AM
pretty much the same thing you'd have at any other party. Drinks, food. Make sure you don't just leave them at the front door with software. Make sure that they get all of the packages that will make their OS most functional. Have a theme design contest if you think you'll have time. Show them a couple of useful tips and tricks you have learned.

Also, have something else to entertain everyone while the OS is install, you don't want to be sitting around doing nothing for 30 minutes.

Thats all I can think of. Good Luck.

popch
August 20th, 2007, 09:19 AM
Please remind everyone to backup their data (or even their disk partitions) before doing something irreversible.

A server with a largish disk might be handy.

Sammi
August 20th, 2007, 09:34 AM
LAN Internet would be very helpful for updating after the initial install getting getting all those extra packages to make the system fully functional.

You could possibly prepare a list of useful packages to get.

popch
August 20th, 2007, 09:47 AM
LAN Internet would be very helpful for updating after the initial install getting getting all those extra packages to make the system fully functional.

You could possibly prepare a list of useful packages to get.

Isn't there a way to cache those packages within the LAN? Otherwise, each update would be fetched over the WAN mutliple times.

Spr0k3t
August 20th, 2007, 09:56 AM